Call for Submissions: What The Pop! A Pop-Up Boutique, Gallery and Performance for All

 

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: 
Emerging artists working in any medium, and who are based in Quebec, are invited to submit to the YES Pop-up Exhibition series titled WHAT THE POP! This series is designed to showcase your work while helping you develop new skills to monetize your art.
 
WHEN & WHERE?
Three pop-up exhibitions, each showcasing a different group of artists, will take place in three different Montreal neighborhoods: Saturday August 10th, 17th & 24th; in the Plateau, Old Port & Verdun. The exhibitions will be preceded by a mandatory training session on pop-up logistics (Monday, July 15th), and an optional training session on making sales (Monday, July 22nd). Both training sessions can be attended in person or online.
 
WHAT IS A POP-UP?
Pop-up exhibitions emerged in the last decade out of a need for increased accessibility to art and art spaces, all with a Do-It-Yourself philosophy. A pop-up is a short-term, non-traditional exhibition, held in a temporary and often alternative location, and can take on many forms.
 
WHY WOULD I WANT TO PARTICIPATE IN A POP-UP?
Generally, pop-ups seek to help artists:
  • reach new audiences 
  • engage with existing networks in an innovative way 
  • test a new product
  • get a better understanding of their audience and clients
  • generate sales 
YES is a not-for-profit organization that provides English-language support services to help artists, entrepreneurs and job seekers succeed in Quebec. We encourage people of diverse backgrounds (such as people of colour, aboriginal people, persons living with disabilities, members of the LGBTQAI+ communities, and other cultural communities) to apply and take this opportunity to highlight diversity in their application.
 
HOW CAN I APPLY?
Please note, if selected, you will be exhibiting at ONE of the following dates/locations: 
Saturday, August 10: WIP. 3487 St Laurent Blvd, Montreal, QC H2Y 3T6
Saturday, August 17: Café Des Arts, 350 St Paul St E, Montreal, QC H2Y 1H4
Saturday, August 24: Church of the Epiphany, 4322 Wellington St., Verdun, QC H4G 1W4

If you participated in the 2018 edition of What the Pop!, we encourage you to re-submit your application for the 2019 edition. 
 
 
Our goal is to offer support to artists as they learn to monetize their art, build their artistic CV and make connections.
Do not hesitate to get in touch if you have any questions about the series or the application process.

For more information, please contact Mariana Stabilé mstabile@yesmontreal.ca 514-878-9788 ext. 316.

Here's a list of the artists who participated in 2018.
Anders Bayly https://baylycraft.com/ 
Bri Foster https://brifoster.com/ 
Emilie Coquil https://www.instagram.com/anitchacreation/
Gabrielle Elliott Atelier Triangle 
Ivan Atehortua https://www.solalcomics.com/ 
Jean-François Brucel https://www.brucelstudio.com/ 
faiasol http://arkofthesun.com/ 
Maria Trujilo 
https://www.instagram.com/heartarte/ 
Moon Nakhala
Natalia Delgado https://wisewhiskers.com/
Valerie Whissell THE ITs Ok PROJECT
Wai Au http://waiau.ca/ 
Zahraa Hayat Sbaiti https://www.instagram.com/hayat.alnufus/ 
Alexia McKinsey  http://alexiamckindsey.com/
Aliah Schwartz  https://www.aliahschwartz.ca/
Annie Lafrance
Brooke Jurdak https://brookejurdak.com/password 
Chase Cancilla 
Clara Congdon http://claracongdon.com/ 
Claudia Cachay-Osorio 
www.janampahuaman.wordpress.com
David Goldberg
Hall  https://davidhall.workbooklive.com/
Fatimah Rehman 
DJ Overflow 
http://djoverflowmtl.com
Holly MacKinnon  https://www.hollymackinnon.com/ 
Ian MacLeod 
Ingrid Agbato https://www.coo-mon.ca/fr/accueil 
Iuliana Irimia https://www.iulianairimia.com/ 
Jordan Treimanis Art with Jord 
Lyndon Polan www.lyndonpolan.com 
Maia Thomlinson http://www.mdthomlinson.com/
Marielle Camozzi - http://www.mariellecamozzi.com/
Marta Barnes 
https://www.studiobarnowl.com/ 
Melisa Veillette
Natalie Chicoine https://www.facebook.com/natalie.chicoine.9/media_set?set=a.1124708687563174.1073741828.100000721612901&type=3
Nicole Small  https://www.instagram.com/oneononeartportraits/
Nova Lee Fortier novaleefortier.com
Rad Rouse www.instagram.com/eye_b_rad/
Sarah Rosenberg - https://www.sarahpenina.com/
Toby Wesenberg www.tobywesenberg.com 
Victoria Niya www.instagram.com/victoria.niya.art/
Vintage Mekare  https://www.instagram.com/vintagemekare/ 
Yolanda Marie Ruzilo - www.ymruzilo.com 
Zi Di Zhu - https://nebularswamp.neocities.org/ 

Collectives: 
Triple Scale Games (Frederic Bohn, Isabela Pedrosa, Renato Renboucas & Pierre Picard), digital gaming - http://triplescalegames.com/ 
Monica Pena Cid - https://www.artotra.mx/canada 
ILLNESS - https://illnessart.wordpress.com/ 
V4LYUM - www.v4lyum.com
Mattey Ossom -https://soundcloud.com/asariing/tracks 
Renald Boyd -https://m.facebook.com/jamhaitian 
Chloé Fortier  www.n0rth.ca 
Eliza Moore  elizamoore.com 
Karen Chung  Karen Chung
Yoni Chekhanovich  https://soundcloud.com/user-462064084 
Yemisi Adeleye - https://www.instagram.com/yemi.sees/?hl=ne
Joséphine Sterling – https://www.instagram.com/josephine.theartjourney/?hl=ne
Rebecca Taylor - https://www.facebook.com/authorrebeccarosetaylor/
Zoe Lambrinakos-Raymond

Collective: 
Mariia Kovalezska 
Oksana Gerych
Ljudmila Jurcovsky

This project is funded by: